Carolyn Brooks was a long time director/supporter of the KMLF.  She worked on most every committee in the festival.  After her death, the Carolyn Brooks award was created; this award is given annually to the person who shows continued service to the KMLF each year.  Her daughter, Abby Brooks and the festival Chairperson usually presents the award to that years participant.  Below are those who have received this honor.


1992 Gerry Roan 2007 James O. Roan
1993 Barabara Grace 2008 Janie Cawood Brooking
1994 Jennifer Jones 2009 Elizabeth Madon
1995 Jackie Downey 2010 Prudie Thomas
1996 John Combs 2011 Shari Knuckles
1997 Ina Robbins 2012 Greg Nunnelley
1998 Kim Gambrell 2013 Scott Madon
1999 Sherwin Rader 2014 Ed Wilson
2000 Rosemary Combs 2015 Amy Woolum
2001 Robert Roan 2016 Katherine Reese Capps
2002 Sharon Madon  2017 Rheagan Redmond Young
2003 Annette Walden  2018 Colby Slusher
2004 Barbara Evans  2019 Linda Jeffrey
2005 Charles Evans  2020  
2006 Vickie & Ronnie Washam  2021  



Donate to the Kentucky Mountain Laurel Foundation. The festival wouldn’t exist without your contributions.